About Us


Contact information for each individual staff member.

120th Anniversary

Commemorating the 120th year of LUP.

News and Blog

Latest news from the press and our authors.

Liverpool University Press (LUP)

Liverpool University Press is the UK’s third oldest university press, with a distinguished history of publishing exceptional research since 1899, including the work of Nobel prize winners. LUP has rapidly expanded in recent years to become an award-winning academic publisher that produces approximately 130 books a year, 34 journals and a number of digital resources, specialising in literature, modern languages, history and visual culture.

LUP’s mission is to disseminate high quality scholarly research and to promote learning and culture through the publication of books and journals. The Press is a global ambassador for the University of Liverpool, dispatching tens of thousands of copies of our publications worldwide each year, all bearing the imprimatur of an internationally-focused, research-led, Russell Group university. It also has a civic mission to support the city of Liverpool through collaborative publishing with the region's cultural organisations and as part of the city’s creative economy in its own right.

Board of Directors:

  • Professor Fiona Beveridge, Executive Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Humanities and Social Sciences, University of Liverpool (Non-Executive Director; Chair)
  • Richard Charkin, Executive Director of Bloomsbury Publishing Plc (Non-Executive Director)
  • Anthony Cond, Managing Director
  • Toby Faber, Chairman of Faber Music and formerly Managing Director of Faber & Faber (Non-Executive Director)
  • Charles Forsdick, James Barrow Professor of French, AHRC Theme Leadership Fellow for Translating Cultures, University of Liverpool (Non-Executive Director)
  • Justine Greig, Finance Director and Company Secretary
  • Alison Welsby, Editorial Director

Editorial Advisory Board:

  • Charles Forsdick, James Barrow Professor of French (Chair)
  • John Belchem, Emeritus Professor of History
  • Anthony Cond, Managing Director
  • Fiona Hobden, Senior Lecturer in Greek Culture
  • Chloé Johnson, Commissioning Editor for Modern Languages & Postcolonial Studies
  • Clare Litt, Senior Commissioning Editor for Classics & Medieval Studies
  • Sarah Peverley, Professor of English Literature
  • Christabel Scaife, Senior Commissioning Editor for Literary Studies & Irish Studies
  • David Seed, Emeritus Professor of American Literature
  • Frank Shovlin, Professor and Head of the Institute of Irish Studies
  • Claire Taylor, Gilmour Professor of Spanish
  • Jon Tonge, Professor of Politics
  • Alison Welsby, Editorial Director (Convenor)